Centre approves National Capital Region Transport Corporation Limited (NCRTC)

The government’s ambitious plan of connecting the National Capital Region (NCR) through a fast transit system–the Regional Rapid Transit system (RRTS)–has been permitted with the Union Cabinet on Thursday approving the constitution of National Capital Region Transport Corporation Limited (NCRTC).

The Union Cabinet approved the NCRTC under the Companies Act, 1956 with initial seed capital of Rs.100 crore as per the Company Act, 1956 for designing, developing, implementing, financing, operating and maintaining the RRTS. The company can form subsidiary companies for implementing each corridor.

An efficient and quick RRTS system is expected to help bring the NCR constituents closer and decongest the National Capital. “NCR is growing and for the model to be successful there is a need to have seamless and quick transport system that connects the region. In the absence of infrastructure, the concept of a cohesive NCR has failed to take off,” said an official of the Urban Development Ministry.

The NCRTC that will pave way for the implementation of the RRTS is expected to change that. To begin with three corridors connecting Delhi-Sonepat-Panipat, Delhi-Gurgaon-Alwar, and Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut have been approved.

The Centre and the State Governments would contribute equally to the initial seed capital of Rs.100 crore. While the Urban Development and Railway Ministries will contribute 22.5 per cent of the amount, the National Capital Region Planning Board will contribute 5 per cent.

The remaining amount will be reimbursed by the State Governments of Delhi, Haryana, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh, who will pool in 12.5 per cent each.

Officials said that while eight RRTS corridors have been identified earlier for the development in the NCR area, the NCRTC will take up three prioritised corridors.

The first corridor Delhi-Sonepat-Panipat is 111 km long and the daily ridership is estimated to be 3.77 lakh in 2016 which may grow to 9.83 lakh by 2041.

The second corridor Delhi-Gurgaon-Alwar is 180 km long and estimated to carry 6.9 lakh people daily in 2016. This will go up to 15.1 lakh by 2041. The third corridor Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut is 90 km long and would carry an estimated 5.7 lakh people every day in 2016 and 11.4 lakh by 2041.

The total length of the three corridors to be developed by NCRTC is 381 km. The NCRTC is to be set up within a period of two months.

The actual cost, financing plan, RRTS alignments, real estate development, financing through Transit Oriented Development, etc. will be firmed up and frozen in the detailed project reports of each of these projects while processing proposals for each corridor for sanction subsequently.

The NCRTC shall be set up within two months after approval of the Cabinet. NCRTC is proposed as the implementing agency for taking up the RRTS project in the NCR.

The National Capital Region Planning Board had earlier drafted a ‘Functional Plan on Transport for NCR-2032’, which recommended the setting up of eight RRTS corridors to connect important towns of the NCR with a high speed rail based commuter transit system.


Published in: on July 13, 2013 at 4:34 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://indianrlys.wordpress.com/2013/07/13/centre-approves-national-capital-region-transport-corporation-limited-ncrtc/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: