Real-time info system for trains launched

The Indian Railways on Wednesday launched a real-time train information system (RTIS) for a dozen important trains through which passengers can access the accurate train running information.

Railway Minister Dinesh Trivedi launched the facility at the Economic Editors’ Conference here.

The facility will not only be available to passengers on these trains but also to the public who are accessing the website “http:/”, and through SMS from railway enquiry number 139.

Passengers will be provided with the information about the location of the train, its running position — on time or late, next stop, nearest approaching/crossed station and the speed.

This facility has been provided for 12301 Howrah-New Delhi Rajdhani Express, 12302 New Delhi-Howrah Rajdhani Express, 12305 Howrah-New Delhi Rajdhani Express, 12306 New Delhi-Howrah Rajdhani Express, 12313 Sealdah-New Delhi Rajdhani Express, 12314 New Delhi-Sealdah Rajdhani Express, 12951 Mumbai Central-New Delhi Rajdhani Express, 12952 New Delhi-Mumbai Central Rajdhani Express, 12953 Mumbai Central-Nizamuddin A K Rajdhani Express, 12954 Nizamuddin A.K.-Mumbai Central Rajdhani Express, 12003 Lucknow-Delhi Shatabdi Express and 12004 New Delhi-Lucknow Shatabdi Express.

The Railways intends to provide this facility in all passenger and freight trains by December 2012.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: