5-digit train numbers from December

Passengers booking tickets in Mail and Express trains need to add prefix 1 before the existing four-digit numbers while checking the reservation position through the enquiry system.

Aiming at bringing uniformity and logical basis for numbering of trains, the Indian Railways has decided to introduce five-digit numbering system for all passenger trains.

The new five-digit numbering system will be effective from December this year.

Currently, trains have varying numbers including three-digit, four-digit and alpha-numeric ones.

Five-digit train numbering has become necessary as the four-digit system has been exhausted, a senior Railway Ministry official said. However, the official clarified that the names of the trains are not being changed.

The five-digit scheme proposes to cover all passenger carrying trains including Duronto, Rajdhani, Shatabdi, Garibrath and suburban holiday specials. However, it will not cover freight trains.

“CRIS (Centre for Railway Information Systems) has been instructed to make necessary changes to modify the software accordingly,” said the official.

After the software is ready, the new numbers will be reflected in the passenger reservation system and the train enquiry system.


Published in: on September 17, 2010 at 4:02 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://indianrlys.wordpress.com/2010/09/17/5-digit-train-numbers-from-december/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: